Main Menu



Applications are hereby invited from suitably qualified candidates for admission into the Preliminary Studies programme in Arts, Arts Education, Agriculture, Engineering and Technology, Science and Science Education for the 2009/2010 academic session.

(a) Venue of Programme

The venue of the programme shall be off-campus and temporarily at the Ilorin Foundation Multipurpose complex, after Ilorin Grammar School, Geri Alimi, Ilorin. The school will move shortly to its permanent site at Fufu, near Ilorin.

Admission Requirements

(b) Qualifications

1. Arts and Arts Education

(i) Applicants must pass five subjects at credit level at not more than two sittings in the SSCE/GCE organized by WAEC/NECO and should include the major subject of study.

(ii) Two of the five subjects must be from Arts while the third may be from the Social Sciences.

Note: There is no preliminary studies programme in B.A.(Hons) English.

2. Agriculture, Engineering and Technology, Science and Science Education.

Applicants must pass the following subjects at credit level: English Language, Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics at not more than two sittings in the SSCE/GCE organized by WAEC/NECO.

(c) Specific Requirements

(i) Faculty of Agriculture will accept credit grade in Agricultural Science in lieu of credit grade in Biology.

(d) Duration of Programme

The programme is for a duration of two semesters (one academic session)

(e) Eligibility

The Preliminary Studies programme is primarily open to applicants from the catchment areas of the University of Ilorin: Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nassarawa, Niger, Plateau, Sokoto and Zamfara states.

(f) General Conditions

(i) Candidates who want to study Engineering must obtain credit grades in Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics.

(ii) Applicants must write the 2010/2011 JAMB/UME with relevant subject combination to any programme in either Arts or Sciences and must obtain the minimum pass mark approved by the Federal Government.

(iii) Applicants are to note that the programme is non-residential.

(g) Method of Application

Candidates should pay the sum of N5000.00 (five thousand naira) at any of the banks registered with e-tranzact and obtain a pin vending (receipt number and confirmation order number) which will be used for on-line completion of application. Candidates will be expected to pay bank charges of N250.00 (two hundred and fifty naira) in addition to the application fee.
Each candidate is expected to download the form to confirm his/her Local Government. This form must be filled and it must be endorsed by the Chairman / Secretary of the Local Government. A candidate who is offered admission will be expected to bring the form and SSCE/GCE certificates/result slips during registration. Closing date for submission of form is Friday, 25TH September, 2009.

Banks registered with e-tranzact are: First Bank Plc, Access Bank Plc, Afribank Plc, Bank PHB Plc, Ecobank Plc, Fidelity Bank Plc, First City Monument Bank Plc, FinBank Plc, Guaranty Trust Bank Plc, Intercontinental Bank Plc, Oceanic Bank Plc, Skye Bank Plc, Spring Bank Plc, Stanbic IBTC Bank Plc, Sterling Bank Plc, Union Bank Plc, United Bank for Africa Plc, Wema Bank Plc Zenith Bank Plc.

N:B: For Enquiries on the 2009/2010 Remedial Program, send a mail to



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *


Protected by WP Anti Spam