Main Menu


Twelve institutions spread across the six geo-political zones are to benefit from a N24bn “special high impact intervention” fund from the Education Trust Fund in 2010.

The Minister for Education, Prof. Ruqayyatu Rufai, disclose this at the opening of the annual strategic planning workshop with Federal and State Universities, in Abuja, on Tuesday.

Rufai said the idea behind the “special high impact intervention” was borne out of a desire to upgrade infrastructure and instructional facilities in our institutions of higher learning to a level of international competitiveness.

She explained that government introduced the concept in 2009 in response to the growing need to improve the environment for teaching and learning.

She said, “It is my honour to announce the names of the institutions to benefit from the 2nd Phase of the ETF special high impact intervention as follows:

“University of Jos and Kogi State Polytechnic, Lokoja (North Central), Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi and Federal Polytechnic Mubi, Adamawa State (North East).

Others are: “Bayero University, Kano and Jigawa State College of Education, Gumel (North West), Federal University of Technology, Owerri and Institute of Management and Technology, Enugu (South East), University of Port Harcourt and Akwa Ibom State College of Education, Afaha-Nsit (South South Zone) and Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife and Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo.”

Each of the benefiting Universities were allocated N3bn while each Polytechnic and Colleges of Education will receive N1bn.

While congratulating benefiting institutions, the Minister said she would not hesitate to wield the “big stick” if any of the benefiting institutions fell short of the expected standards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *


Protected by WP Anti Spam